How nice..

Arm, a little warning about working with Tomatheous… he’s a great coder and a great guy in general, but I’ve seen him bail on promising projects before so you would really have to keep him interested to see this through to completion. He is known for his coding skill, not his dedication, so keep that in mind.

I wasn’t aware that I was key or part of promising projects. I was barely a member of Frozen Utopia. A coder with nothing to program. Keranu pretty much sum’d up my status in the group with something to the effect of that he totally forgot I had access to the member forums or was even a member or some such statement. A part time member I guess with little to nothing to do, or given any direction or what my role was even supposed to be in the group.

Or how about Dead of the Brain. Worked my ass off on that one. Only to be insulted by Dave a few times on the project. He was too busy to do the work on his end, to help trouble shoot and test script related decoding when I was working on it. Then out of the blue, he’d start working on it again and by that time I had forgotten the routines be heart and had to re-learn everything – several times after the VWF routine was done. Wait a real pain in the ass that was. Then insulting me by bringing someone else to ‘help’ with the project when it was his end that he didn’t hold up in the first place. Finally, he wouldn’t listen to me or fix the problem on the script side. Kept insisting that it needed to be fixed on the string read and print routine. Well, there was no fucking ram left to put anymore check code let. And it could have been easily fixed on his side (correct/careful formatting of the text). Then mentioning that the VWF should be scrapped, and a plain FWF written from scratch. WTF? At that point I said fuck it. Because my part of the project was DONE, I gave him the solution the problem. I invested a lot of my time into that project and my part was completed. DotB fans, yeah – that’s why the game took/is taking forever. I’ve cut communications with a lot of people and the pce dev channel. So I haven’t talked with Dave. But last I read, out of know where and without any email to me, he gave away the project. Status= unknown. My investment into that project? Probably completely wasted. Wonder if my time/work will be wasted on Cosmic Fantasy 1. At least that only took about 1-2 weeks to do.

Or Xymati? How about I was never officially part of that project. BT had disappeared and Fragmare was left with a bunch of artwork/design just going to waste. I offered to at least apply it to a script engine I had already been working on (by myself), until BT could resume coding PCE stuff again. And if it was decided that was never going to be the case, that I and some others could step in and help complete the project with Frag. Except.. Frag went AWOL. And when he did come back, he wouldn’t talk about PCE stuff. Just brag on a PCE dev channel, and post pics of what random chick he was gonna bang that week from the bar. As far as I was concerned, the project was dead and I cut my losses/involvement.

Or the plenty of translators that have bailed on me mid way through projects. Projects that were ready to go. Just needed a translated script. Everything else was done (i.e. lots of time put into those projects).

Or is he referring to my own projects? NES2PCE projects? I put hundreds of hours into those. Hoping to generate some sort of serious hacking interest. But nothing. The only person I bailed on was myself. ‘Cause I wasn’t interested in doing all the upgrades myself. And somehow I was talked into doing DW and CV upgrades, when I had mentioned quite a few times that I didn’t really want to do that side of it. People push and push until you give in (seems even a straight NO doesn’t work). And for the record, I never said I would do ANY Bonk project, with any one or any team. Actually, I stated on multiple occasions just the opposite.

Or the times I’ve invested and wrote special code for HuC for people, and never hear much of, if anything at all back in return. HuC sucks. It’s barely above BASIC. And shouldn’t be used to write anything even remotely serious (straight from the authors mouth themselves), let alone commercial software. Yet I wasted tons of time learning all of the backend and hackish setup. Writing special code from some people, or just writing expansion code for general use. Adding features and support that was never originally there. Hundreds of hours. Pooring over the ASM library for it as well as the C source code for the compiler. Figuring out how to optimize it to a usable level. Maybe I’m crazy, but that took “dedication”. And I didn’t have someone to help keep the motivation going or keep me ‘interested’ or whatever. All solo work.

Yeah, solo work. Like 90% of what I’ve done. Out of all the stuff I’ve done, mostly private, the large majority of it was solo. The only limited experience I have with a ‘group’ was Frozen Utopia. And my role was a joke. So much so, that I never advertised or went out of my way to tell people that I was a member. Hell, Charles didn’t even know and I talked with him on a daily/weekly basis for years, about all kinds of stuff.

I’d like to know; what majority or promising projects have I bailed on? ‘Cause that’s news to me. I have been bailed on plenty of times when trying to form partnerships with other people, that’s for sure. Trusting people outright.

Thankfully they weren’t as big a project as this one. Matter of fact, this project with Armen is the first serious project I’ve ever started/been involved in, with other individuals (I’ve done plenty of solo projects). Hell, I wanted to do this project with Armen when he first asked about it here. Because the guy has some serious talent. But I pushed him in the direction of some other people that had groups already, to give other people in the PCE coding scene to work with him. (That and I was reluctant to work with someone again, after having been ‘bailed on’ one too many myself. I was gearing up for a small solo/single project) And I was hoping Armen wouldn’t mention my name, so we could avoid any snide/snark remarks. I know I’ve probably pissed off some people in the PCE develop scene, either directly or because of their association with direct individuals, by just plain ol’ cutting people off/leaving channel/forums/whatever without any word or reason. And I know there will be some shit talking or snide remarks/jokes by a couple of dev members in private (’cause I’ve seen it before). Can’t really do anything about that. But whatever.

This is Armen’s team (Armen, you need to think up a name). So far, just him and I. It’s his choice if he wants to bring in other people into the team, as we get further along. I’ve already canceled all my other PCE stuff (private and public) to focus on this. With an exception of one possible PCE commercial project proposition sent to me. I’m looking into the details of it currently.

Anyway, sorry about the rant Armen. I would have liked to kept my name out of this/ used an alias. Oh well. I got the util up and working for assisting in converting stills. It’s still a lot of work to do by hand, but it’ll be worth it. And I need to add a few more features to auto conversion util, for editing back into photoshop to help along with this. I wasted today doing that. I also got some interesting bit of news. I’ll email you details and see what you think.

12 Responses to “How nice..”

  1. Yeah tom, i’am entirely with you, and anothers many thanks for your help with HuC ans ASM ..

    Criticism, is very easy and free for some people.

    Don’t you let disapointed by this guys .. 😉

  2. I only saw the message now. Well, everyone has different opinions, it’s alright if they think that way. Actually, I had already asked for help on the pcenginefx forums before mentioning your name (I’m not someone who post often on the PCEnginefx forum I not very well known anyway) , but the only person interested was already busy with his own project, the others said nothing very encouraging either.

    Anyway, it doesn’t really matter now. Sooner or later people would have found it was you, so it’s alright. Criticism is one thing to accept, but you don’t need to aknowledge it if you consider it doesn’t correspond to what is true for you 😉 So I don’t think you should take these remarks too seriously or let them disappoint you. 🙂

  3. Damn! I didn’t know about DoTB… That sucks.
    Anyway, like Touku said : “Screw them!”. And good luck with your new projects!

  4. Wow. I had no idea you felt that way.

    I just saw it as “I was busy when you had time and you were busy when I had time”. I never went looking for other people; they offered to contribute, which I have always accepted. I’ve always wanted to encourage interest in the scene, contributing when I could (like open-sourcing my emulator in 1997, or writing HuC libraries in 2001).

    Status of DotB and CF1 ? Still alive, still planning to move forward, but 12-hour days get in the way of that. I’ve never forgotten nor belittled your contributions to those, and I’ve followed your work here with keen interest.

    All I can say is I’m sorry that anything I’ve done (or failed to do) has upset you.

  5. It’s so sad that the PCE DEV scene is so small yet so divided. I honestly wish that the few of you that know enough PCE coding could all work together and be able to release games for our beloved machine. ;(

  6. Gotta agree with Shubibiman on this; we need to work together and increase the peace. The PCE dev “scene” has been around in one form or another since the late 90’s due to the strong community behind it. Let’s keep it going for another decade.

    I can attest that Tom’s work ethic is nothing short of exceptional and he has delivered on the goods consistently and without fail over the years.

    Good luck with the new project!

  7. Paranoia Dragon Says:

    Tom, just incase you didn’t get my message on IRC:

    I want to apologize for pushing you into any project, whether it be DW, CV, or Bonk. I don’t recall offhand on DW or CV whether you wanted to do upgraded versions or not. In regards to Bonk, I’m sure in some way I jumped the gun & said you were the coder for the project. I do recall saying to someone at some point that Charles was interested in it or a part of it or something to that effect. I know

    you were willing to help atleast to some degree of helping in regards to figuring out the paralax & putting together maps for the levels, & I do appreciate that, no doubt! Anyways, once agian I regret anything I said that was untrue, & I hope that maybe somehow some of the problems that have occured in the scene can be ironed out, maybe just misunderstandings, though, you’d know better then I would

    if there were misunderstandings. I look forward to the Lunar project! Take care, PD

    PS-one other thing I thought about, is that, assuming the Bonk project ever gets finished, I will still give you credit. You were deffinitly a help to the project, so, at the very least, you’d be in the special thanks. Same goes for any of Frozen Utopia’s games, if they get finished, anything you contributed, I want to make sure you get the credit.

  8. Fragmare stopped bothering because he put in tons of effort for a game where his effort wasn’t matched with as much coding effort. Who can blame him. He said he’s got better things to do. I agree 100%. Putting it in a hottie is probably more fun than straining your eyes and wrist painting space ships all night.

    As far as all the other projects go, maybe you didn’t claim to be the coder-master-in-chief, but you also never claimed you weren’t when it would come up…. and enough interest on your end was shown that it was assumed by all (AFAIK) that you were doing it. Now we know what’s up… 2ish years later.

    All past-beef aside, in regards to pissing people off…I think the problem with you as far as I, and some others see it, is that you tend to let your ego fuel what you’re doing or how you act. Stop worrying about what someone else (*cough* me *cough*) is doing, or how people are going to see what you do. Screw everyone and get stuff done.

    That being said, it generally seems like you also use your built up status and ego to assert stuff onto people, often assuming your self taught/discovered method is the only correct method. What ends up happening is you piss off and insult people, whether you meant to or not. It’s all in the delivery. You tended to (on pcefx), when you disagree with someone, attack the persons intelligence, as opposed to just disagreeing with their statements and explaining why.

    That takes the conversation from a technical, to a personal one. Expect drama.

    Also, this is my own opinion, so don’t take offense anyone:

    Piddly tech demos are a waste anymore. All we need are completed projects that are of entertaining use to the non-coding PCE world.

    so with that, here’s to hoping Lunar gets finished.

    • blah-blah-blah

      Look, I don’t care what you think. You know this already, and so I’m not sure why you’re bothering commenting/complaining here on my blog. I left PCFX and utopiasoft to get away from you, first and foremost. I had even left efnet for a while so I wouldn’t get anymore private messages from you (the only reason I still frequent efnet is for nesdev). I’m not interested in having any sort of discussion with you. Do what you want. Think what you want. Be the voice of the PCE ‘community’ or whatever. I’m left the ‘scene’. I’m doing my own thing. Just like every other coder (PCE and otherwise) that’s not tied to some ‘scene’ or homebrew community or whatever. Do what you do and don’t worry about what I or others do. If you don’t like ‘tech’ demos or such, then simply ignore them. Simple as that. People are free to do what ever they want with their free time, just like you. The ‘pull together or get out’ or “you’re either with us or not’ ultimatum or mentality is just silly. It forces people to pick sides. I didn’t try to make dividing lines in the community, or steal people from it, or created some new clique, or anything such thing. I just quietly left. I’m not part of the scene anymore, so I shouldn’t be a problem or a threat. I’m just a coder doing whatever the hell I feel like, when I feel like – PCE or otherwise – and with a some friends and people I like.

      I’m not really sure what you were expecting by posting here. And in the guise of good luck on Lunar, I see (i.e. an excuse to platform your other opinions). If that’s what you really meant, you could have restricted it just to that. I’m old enough to know bullshit when I see it. Anyway, this is my last response to you, Arkhan. I don’t know how to reiterate this message more clearly – I’m not interested in having a dialog or discussion with you. Not directly, not via proxy, nor indirectly in forum or message boards. Or anything similar or related. It’s not that I’m trying to be a dick, I just don’t want to deal with you anymore. Simple as that. Also – you can post on the blog if you want, for whatever reason, but I won’t respond. See ya 🙂

      -Tom

  9. One of the most important parts of any group effort is communication. This is one thing we didn’t get a lot from you, Tom. If you felt like you weren’t a part of the group, then you should have said something. Furthermore, you didn’t even WANT to be recognized as a part of the group, so what kind of impression do you think that made with me? But all that aside, Frozen Utopia’s work wouldn’t be where it is today without your assistance… be it routines for HuC (like the palette fader and the ADPCM streaming code) or utility programs (like pic2pce). And yeah, HuC isn’t the best thing since sliced bread but it was a step in the right direction towards making the PCE more accessible to the average coder. But really, it sounds like you’re more of a lone wolf… just like I have always been. I never even intended to start a group… it just sorta happened (like most pregnancies). The guys all made me the leader, a role I never really wanted and am not very good at to begin with.

    The fact is though that you left us without a word. You cannot survive in a group environment without knowing how to communicate, and if you just walk away, then all that’s going to do is make people question your dedication, which I have done. I don’t really care when someone gets offended at something I say… I have a knack for pissing people off by saying exactly what’s on my mind regardless of its effect. At least you finally took the time to come forward and defend your point of view. If only you had done this SOONER, we could have worked things out. But oh well, the past is the past… time to move on.

    • “But really, it sounds like you’re more of a lone wolf… just like I have always been.”

      When it comes to doing stuff on the PCE, it’s not particularly by choice. There are a ton of pixel artists and musicians out there. Very-very little, with talent, are interested in the PCE. Sometimes it’s by choice though, when you don’t have a lot of time to invest into a group and you’re still taking time to become familiar with the hardware. But I have worked in group settings/structures over the years. I’ve been part of large projects that spanned several years. A kin to homebrew in the game world, but in the video/film world – no pay but for the love of it.

      “Furthermore, you didn’t even WANT to be recognized as a part of the group, so what kind of impression do you think that made with me?”

      Dave, I didn’t WANT to be seen as the asshole that came in and saved everything. ‘Oh, tomaitheous is here – now shit is going to get done right’. Especially since I wasn’t particularly part of MSR. I didn’t feel right really commenting on it publicly, since I wasn’t there for the large part of it – to say the least. I didn’t want to be ‘that’ asshole. If we had started a new project together, I would have felt more comfortable and much more vocal. But otherwise, I didn’t want to step on anyone’s toes that worked on that over the years. I kept my opinions to myself and tried to make myself useful when needed, but without trying to force my participation into the project. I was a little leery about joining the group in the beginning too. You and I hadn’t really talked all the much beforehand. No directly like with Keranu and such. And not that much afterwards either, not like Keranu and PD that I was in constant contact with.

      “But oh well, the past is the past… time to move on.”

      Exactly what I was trying to do when I left the ‘scene’ 😉 And I tried to leave quietly when I got fed up and without announcement.

  10. *shrug* I tried numerous times to bury the hatchet with you. You’re still convinced you didn’t do anything wrong, ever. Enough people saw the back and forthing between us that occurred. I’m not the type to sit back and sulk or vanish if somethings occurring that I don’t like. I think that should be pretty acceptable. If somethings bugging you, say so.

    So, all I expected from posting here is for maybe after what 6+ months, maybe things would be cooled down and you’d look at what happened a bit differently, and finally take some constructive criticism about your reactions.

    Some people were really perplexed at your sudden attitude shift when it came to arguing. You weren’t like that originally. It sucks.

    Maybe reflect back on how shit went down, and realize you weren’t exactly a saint and brought some of this on yourself. You’re old enough to realize that, right? It takes two to tango. If you can’t extend an apology and try to be cool as I have done a couple times now, then that’s your problem. You’re only hurting yourself now. It’d be great to see the competent PCE people all come together and get shit done instead of sulking and disappearing and writing sappy blogs about everything. I dunno about you but I don’t like being outdone by Sega.

    I’m sorry I didn’t respond to your blogpost (that I read at least once a week) with some sort of apology or whatever.

    as for “good luck on Lunar”, I mean that 100%. Lunar is my favorite RPG. I would like to see my favorite RPG on my favorite system. Duh.

    and if you think this is all more bullshit, whatever. Keep forming problems out of nothing to fuel your disdain for me. Its cool. Whatever keeps you going. I’ll stop trying to settle things. You can sit in the corner and play by yourself.

Leave a Reply

