Lets try this again

This is the new build:
http://www.pcedev.net/nes2pce/Megaman_CD_097a.zip

PLEASE be fare warned that I take no responsibility in what CDR media does to your system. Play it at your own risk.

If you’re a original Duo owner (black model, US or JP), you need to be aware of the “laser parking” issue. While I’ve never seen it happen for a tiny two track setup like this, it doesn’t mean it can’t happen. On the original Duo models, sometimes the laser seeks all the way to the end of the track and past it. It can get stuck there and you have to finger/rotate the gear/track mechanism to get it unstuck. People have theories as to why, but no one knows for sure what the exact problem is. From what I tested years back, media played a very big part. But it wasn’t a single factor. Burn speed (and crappy burners), which is relative and you can’t just applied it to any other brands/models, was an influencing factor too. Burning too fast causes the ‘pit’ edges to become sloppy. This throws off old CD laser as they have a tougher time trying to read them. Certain media don’t reflect enough are just barely adequate for these old CD laser, so you get random failures or skipping(audio) when reading. Others have speculated that if the original Duo laser unit is already on it’s way out, you’re more likely to have the laser parking issue. I can’t really say if that’s true or not, but when I did my tests I didn’t have a brand new out of the box Duo to test with.

The best CD unit that I’ve tested, is the SuperCDROM. That thing is a beast. The original CD, is probably a small step above an original Duo without a new laser replacement. I’ve never tested the later model Duo-Rs, but I’ve heard good things about them. But of all the system, it’s the original Duos that have the laser parking issue. That’s more serious than a simple read or skip issue. Please be aware of it. If you’ve had a new laser replacement for the Duo, I heard this gets rid of the problem.

2 Responses to “Lets try this again”

  1. I had quite a time getting this to run. Demon tools and imgburn were giving errors about an invalid image. I padded the ISO with zeros until the file size was divisible by 2048 bytes (data cd sector size) and the errors stopped. It runs beautifully on MagicEngine and on my DUO (all original hardware). Either pceas.exe or iso_ins.exe aren’t padding properly. It’s 6 or 1/2 dozen which to blame.

    I’ve also heard that burning CD-Rs at a slower speed helps the pits to come out better. My DVD burner won’t burns CDs at less than 8x. I haven’t had a problem with CDRs but I usually use my original discs on my DUO.

    This project is awesome! You’ve found a way to combine my two favorite things from the world of Video Games: PC-Engine and Megaman!

    We’ll pray for you to get well soon.

  2. Hey, weird. I never checked to see if it exactly was 2048 sector blocked or not. Nero never complained when I burned it and Mednafen loads it fine. I’ll have to remember that in the future. Thanks for the tip 😀

    Yeah, same here. I burn at 8x on my DVD drive. Works fine. But then again, I use a Super CDROM2 addon unit. That thing is like a tank with CD-Rs. The US Duo’s I’ve had in the past were a little more finicky (and had laser parking issues).

    Glad you liked it 🙂 I have few builds that are newer. Though, they’re for upgrading to CD audio, new sprite sizes, more sprite frames, more colors, etc. I just need to find hacker interested in upgrading it. Not an easy feat to get hackers over to the PCE system, unfortunately :/

Leave a Reply

