Registered for school

After some thinking it through, some research online, and some input from one of my older brother (he’s an EE and a project leader)… I finally decided on Computer Engineering as my major. Hopefully I can land some sort of work after getting a BS, and work on my MS while gaining experience in some related job market. I thought a lot about CS, but ultimately decided CE is more suited to what I want to do. I want to program, but I also want to interface hardware on a low level. I want to be have my hand in the development of both hardware and software. I’m not sure what I should minor in, but I’ve got some time to think about that. It’s gonna take a bit to get acclimated to school life and environment, that much I know. There’s a great Engineering transfer program here in the local community college. I’m hoping two semesters (or four, if I can push it) should be enough to get me up to speed, get the low requirement classes/credits out of the way – and cheaper than the U of A would cost me. Then ultimately transfer to the U of A (they supposedly have a great Engineering department). For this summer, I’m gonna concentrate on getting as much work and money saved up. A grant and loans aren’t going to give me much leeway financially. So things will be slow this summer for PCE related stuffs. But I suspect fall will allow some time. I do know that I want to focus on more embedded type projects too (I did a little bit of mcu dedicated stuff over the past couple of years). So we’ll see how much that’ll leave for PCE stuffs. Just trying to move on and make the best out of life for what I can.

2 Responses to “Registered for school”

  1. Hey hey, it’s good to read that your turning over a new leaf. In fact, it makes me think about going back to school myself.

    I hope you can find some time to finish up Spriggan mk2, but I’ll be around regardless of whether that’s sooner or later.

    Take care!

  2. Fight the power!

    PS: Enjoy school.

    and by enjoy, I mean steel yourself and pray you still get free time.

    Especially when you get to your MS. That stuff is brutal.

    Good luck!

    though, it is July now, so you are probably not exactly in school yet

Leave a Reply

