MM1 / MM2

Been pretty busy the last week and will be for a bit. But I’m slowly chugging away at stuffs. I got this weekend coming up, so I need to prioritize what pce related stuffs I should do. I’ve got a lot (DX still needs ending credits, Spriggan Mark 2 need ADPCM offsets to tracks to go to BL for english dub prep, Motteke Tamago needs the new title screen inserted, etc).

Megaman 2 is getting an overhaul to the audio emulation code, so that is holding back the public release. Thanks to Drakon for testing out Megaman CDDA version. I fixed a few bugs. I also added an easy mode to MM1 (people seem to think this game is hard 😛 ). I need to fix the CDDA track loading screen (it looks like crap when the tracks load). So these two games will be getting public releases soon.

Also, Megaman 2 with CDDA tracks. Or hell, just a version that’s on CD as-is. It’s gonna be difficult. The game is 256k as is. But CDRAM for SuperCD is 256k (plus 8k for system ram). At minimum I need an extra 8k free bank to put my emulation code in and for CDDA track code, I need another 8k free bank. I thought about removing some graphic data from the game, and load that in when it’s needed (like at the start of a level), but none of the graphic segments start exactly on an 8k page boundary. I.e. there are no clean breaks where I can do this. It’s definitely going to be tricky to say the least.

And finally, not MM related, Dragon Warrior. I never publicly released this game. It’s on CD. I’m gonna redo some the emulation code because this game was the very first NES2PCE project that I ever did, then release it publicly. I’ll have to figure out BRAM syscard lib and make a save option too.

3 Responses to “MM1 / MM2”

  1. Where’s the +1 button when you need it? 🙂

    Talking about Capcom games, someone asked if your emulator could handle Makaimura on PCE. Indeed that would make a nice companion to the SGX sequel. What hurdles do you foresee?

  2. Really would like to see the Dragon Warrior released. 🙂 Is it a direct port, or are there any enhancements?

Leave a Reply

