Megaman 1 Redbook version (easy mode too)

I uploaded the CD version of Megaman, that uses redbook tracks instead of PSG. It’s a cue/iso/wave set. I also included the new ‘easy’ mode hack in it (you can’t turn it off). Basically easy mode (so far), is that enemies/bosses do less damage to you. Damage is now (damage/2)+1. Everyone complains about how this is one of the hardest Megaman games. I disagree; I think it’s super easy. But, in the end, I want people to enjoy the game and the hacks/whatever. I’m also looking for people to play/beat this on the real system (I have yet to fix my CD unit), just to make sure everything is working correctly on the real hardware. Post a comment here, if you can (if you’ve tested it for me).

I included some megaman alternate musics. But I didn’t have enough to do the later Dr. Wily stages, so it’s just filler tracks there (Gradius 2 IIRC). Feel free to change out the WAVE files (tracks) to anything you want. I use ‘track’ more to play the redbook stuff, so you don’t have to worry about the length of the tracks/wave files.

I’ll eventually make a boot menu, so you can select Easy mode or normal mode. I wanted to hack some the level maps for Easy mode as well (maybe make a few platforms for areas that have infamous pitfalls and spikes), but I’ll need feedback for that (because to me, the game’s already easy).

You can get it at the download and links section, or this direct link: http://www.pcedev.net/nes2pce/megaman_CD_ver98.zip

Leave a Reply

