Update: November

I’ve completely underestimated college. I’ve got some free time from one class finished up, but I’ve since filled that with work (trying to save cash like crazy). I’ve ran some numbers and at the going rate, I won’t have enough loan money and financial aid/grants to finish getting my degree (and I qualify for the max amount). I’ll run out around the last year or so. Working federal study (20 hours a week) only provides minimum wage and I’ve included that into the numbers and analysis as well. This means I need to maintain a highest GPA possible to hopefully qualify for yearly scholarships. Pima College (state community college) is only $1,700 year for 28 credits, but the U of A, where I plan to get my undergrad in Computer Science, is $11,000 a year. Neither of those numbers include books or obviously cost of living. On top of that, all math classes (Calc I,II,III, Linear Alg, Diff Equ) and *any* supporting science class all ~need~ to be have a ‘B’ or higher in grade completion, else I won’t be accepted in the last major part of the program; they aren’t messing around ;>_> That was an eye opener.

Anyway, point being – I won’t have as much free time as I would like or had originally thought. That doesn’t mean I plan to abandon PCE coding (I’m not), but my progress in college is the highest priority, and the free time I do get for do PCE stuff – will be highly selective. That means those projects that I have on going, like nes2pce stuff, will probably not see much action or attention (if any). I have winter break coming up, and I have summer break later on. Those are the times where I’ll probably be the most productive. Looking back now, I’ve clearly wasted time that could have easily been put to PCE stuffs. But hindsight is 20/20, as they say…

7 Responses to “Update: November”

  1. Paranoia Dragon Says:

    No NES2PCE stuff? I hope you’ll still be willing to implement my Mega Man soundtrack. I’m currently on Elec Man, fluffing it out. Time’s been limited, but I’m still moving on it, always wanted to do this. It’d be nice if Frag was still working on tiles/sprites, but either way, I’m going to complete this, even if you’re not able to implement it right away, I mean, this is Mega Man after all! šŸ™‚

    • PD: No worries – that’s already been coded so it’s simple to replace any CD audio tracks.

      • Paranoia Dragon Says:

        Sweet, I do have atleast one extra track for Dr. Wily himself, I thought about adding a few others from the GB MM1, but probably won’t other then the Title Screen.

  2. Wahou, schools in the US are so expensive 8-(

    • There are more expensive universities in the US than that, and that only includes the public ones. $11k per year is the minimum (it gets more expensive depending on the degree). Of course, that doesn’t include the insane cost to attend “private” universities ;>_> To finish my Bachelor degree, I’ll be over $60k in debt. And more so if I go for my Masters.

      • glurps, 11K a year ??? wahou ..
        in france you ‘ll paid $300/$400 a year for a public university, and not a bad one ..
        Good luck my friend, i know now why you are optimising your money like a crazy šŸ˜‰

  3. Hey man, I’ve been following your work since you started your Mega Man port. I can sympathize with you on college. Continue putting school first! You’re very talented already, and when you get your degree you’ll have it made. Engineers work their asses off in college and live the (relatively) easy life once they score a job. I have a friend who’s a 3rd year engineering student who’s done a lot of paid internships. He told me engineers are really relaxed at their place of work. Hopefully after some schooling, you’ll be able to get some paid intern work too. My friend made something like 13-17 dollars an hour doing intern work. Best of luck to you!

Leave a Reply

