Update

This year has been off to a terrible start. My financial aid got suspended (something stupid that only community colleges are subject to), and I had to appeal it. On top of that, they decided to add a 2 week delay to all financial aid. I almost became homeless as a result (I couldn’t find a place to rent either). On top of that, my mother found out in mid January that she has leukemia. She was given a months worth of trial chemo pills, which are normally $10,000 a month. She was waiting to hear back on an application to get it at a reduced price. She ran out of medication waiting for this application to go through. This past week they finally approved the application. Things have been really stressful. All three problems have now been resolved, but man… what a shitty start to a new year. I’m hoping to regain some measure of focus and order in my life now. Whew. When it rains, it pours? Maybe.

5 Responses to “Update”

  1. As an anonymous lurker coming from time to time to read the blog, i feel saddened by such news. My best thoughts to your mother and to you! Life is wonderful but it’s also sometimes a damn roller-coaster. Don’t give up!

  2. Oh that’s are bad news man 😦 , for you and your mom .
    I hope you find a quick solution to your housing problem, and your mom health problems can be resolved, I am wholeheartedly with you.

  3. Take care, and put everything else aside.

  4. Sorry to hear of your trials and troubles.

    Education, from what little I understand of it, is more affordable anywhere in the world than the USA. So you might want to try taking a gap year to save up and then going overseas. Finland, for one, is supposed to be awesome. India has comp. sci. related courses on par with MIT, but much cheaper.

    Alternatively you can also do contract work in the meantime. Which is a different type of hard. Sales/negotiation more than technical skill or discipline. With your low-level analysis skills, you might be able to get some reverse engineering or driver related contracts (Facebook just hired the DMD guy to write drivers for Linux, for example), even before finishing (or even starting) a degree, because those skills are not necessarily held by degree holders, anyhow.

    Not an expert in either of these areas myself (formal education, immigration, nor successfully fielding big contracts, although I have had mixed results with smaller ones), but I was recently researching them so thought it might help you as well.

    Hope things work out well for you.

  5. Katar Hol Says:

    Really sorry to hear of your woes. I lost my dad a couple weeks back to lung cancer, so I feel your pain. I hope her finances come through and keep coming through.

    I have all of your NES2PCE roms loaded on my Turbo Everdrive and am crazy for them BTW. They turn my TurboExpress into a portable NES. Great work!

Leave a Reply

